Jimmy Eat World 10/30/14

So I am going to take this back a few years to one of the best shows I have ever seen.  Jimmy Eat World’s Futures 10 year anniversary tour was quite possibly one of the most magical nights of my life.  When Futures came out 12 years ago, it was the album that was on repeat and in my CD players for months.  I was going through a hard time, full of teenage angst and all, and this album was the only thing that calmed my troubled soul, the only thing that made me feel like I wasn’t completely alone in this world.

The show was at one of my least favorite venues; too small, jam packed with people and no air conditioning.  I didn’t care.  They played the album cover to cover and as I stood there, in the middle of this sardine can of a venue, sweating my ass off, I don’t think I have ever been happier.  It had been 10 years since the album came out, I was older, wiser, and clearly had outgrown my teenage angst, but I felt like the album still touched my soul, but in a different way.

I’ve always felt the happiest during concerts, felt like my soul was a peace, but this concert in particular, I felt whole.  It has been almost 2 years since the show, and I still think back to that night, and remember that feeling.  Being surrounded by friends, scream-singing the lyrics to my favorite songs, I remember feeling infinite.  I know I am not the first, nor am I the last person to feel so euphoric after a concert.  In fact I’d be willing to bet that there were many people in that audience who felt the same way, who look back at that night and still feel their heart healing.  But that show in particular always reminds me that times may be tough, but they get better.

“I got a story it’s almost finished

all I need is someone to tell it to

maybe that’s you”

-The World You Love

Leave a Reply

