Panic! At The Disco & Weezer 8/2/16

So this week was a big one for music, and one of the highlights was being able to fulfill my 15 year old hearts dream of seeing Panic! At The Disco live.  When the tour was announced and the tickets went on sale back in Jan/Feb I bought them immediately.  I bought 3 tickets, assuming that 2 of my friends would want to go with me, thank goodness, they did.  I spent months anxiously waiting to see Brendon Urie live and holy crap was it worth the wait.

The night of the show was somewhat of a disaster.  We had a massive monsoon and I spent an enormous amount of time obsessively checking my Facebook, Twitter, and the event website to make sure the show wasn’t canceled, or that the venue hadn’t flooded.  Lucky for me, the show was a rain or shine event and the venue wasn’t under water.  The roads, however, were flooded.

We ordered an Uber, who was “5 minutes away” but took 45 minutes to get to us, and let him deal with the traffic and rainy roads as he drove us to the venue.  We got there just in the nick of time and heard Panic! get on stage, so thank goodness we didn’t miss much.  Now as I previously mentioned the weather was humid, rainy, and pretty intense given we’re in Arizona where it doesn’t rain very often, so I was surprised to see the venue was still absolutely packed.

Now, I have loved Panic! since I was 15 years old, and I have missed seeing them live more times than I care to count, but it was worth the wait.  I was a little nervous that I had such high expectations built up in my head that I would be disappointed, but that definitely was not the case.  Panic! was everything I could have hoped for and more.  I sang at the top of my lungs, standing with 2 of the best people I know, and it was incredible.  Brendon Urie puts on such a fantastic show, he has such a commanding stage presence, if you haven’t had the chance to see Panic! live yet, treat yo self and do it.

Now for Weezer.  Now my friends I went with were mainly there to see Weezer, and while I like Weezer a lot there aren’t a band I would have spent money to see on their own.  I was pleasantly surprised, they were great live.  They had great energy, and they added some incredible props to their set which made the experience that much more memorable.

All in all the chaos of getting to the show was miniscule in comparison to the actual show.  I got to see a band live that I have wanted to see for 13 years, and was pleasantly surprised by another band that has been in and out of my life for many years as well.  The bonus was being able to share that moment with 2 of my favorite people.  Also Brendon Urie was shirtless.  That was a huge bonus.

“Give me envy, Give me malice, Give me your attention” – Time To Dance

Leave a Reply

