Fall Out Boy 3/22/16

Fall Out Boy was one of the first bands I really started to follow.  I started listening to them when I was 14 years old and “Take This To Your Grave” was on a constant loop in my CD player.  I’ve seen them live a few times, but this show was particularly memorable.

One of my best friends took me to the show as a surprise for my birthday, and as an added bonus she brought her son to the show, and this was his first concert, so I was excited to be a part of it.

Now, I don’t typically enjoy arena shows, I just feel like they aren’t very intimate and to me that is half the fun of going to a show.  But Fall Out Boy found a way to keep the entire arena engaged and on their feet from the second they walked on stage until the lights came on and security started ushering us out of the arena.  They played a great mix of new songs off of their newest album, “American Beauty/American Psycho” and added in some old classics from “Take This To Your Grave” and everything in between.

The night was filled with so much nostalgia.  I got to see one of my favorite bands play live, to an arena filled with people, and collectively we all sang our hearts out, but the real treat was being able to experience it all with my friends son.  He is like a brother to me, and being able to stand beside him, sing along to the songs that I first discovered when I was his age, and watch his eyes light up at the beginning of each new song.

It’s a great thing, to watch the way music and bands progress.  To hear the songs that meant so much to me for the last 14 years ago, and have them still mean so much, but in a different light.  It was incredible to see a band from Chicago, who’s first show I saw was at a tiny venue and not even remotely close to being sold out, now fill up an arena and play a sold out show.  They have made quite a name for themselves, and are still going strong after all of these years.  I cannot wait to see what new music they have in store for us; but if we’re being honest I am mostly excited to watch them play sold our arenas and be able to share the music with people I love.

Leave a Reply

