The Cab and The Summer Set

Now I cannot remember the dates of the shows, but I do remember every other detail about the nights so, here it goes.

The Cab and The Summer Set went on tour together about 5 years ago, and still to this days it is one of the most magical shows I have ever been to.  At this point, I had the opportunity to see both bands play live multiple times, and I knew they put on some of the best shows I had ever seen so I was extremely excited to see them perform together.  I was lucky enough to have been afforded the opportunity to spend time with the members of these bands, so I knew the energy would be amazing, and lets be honest, I was hoping to snag some time with these cool kids at the shows as well.  They had 2 shows in Arizona, one in Phoenix, and one in Tucson, and I decided to go to both.

Night One: The Clubhouse Music Venue

I got to the packed venue just in time to squeeze my way to the front of the packed crowd and watch The Summer Set take the stage.  With their usual grace and energy they took the stage by storm and I got chill as the first chord was struck.  Despite being in a hot, over stuffed room, where I should have been sweating my butt off, I was covered in goosebumps so proud of the people before me.  The Summer Set is an Arizona based band, so I have been watching them perform for years, and being able to see just how far they have come will always overwhelm me.  They are some of the nicest people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing, and incredibly talented, and they deserve all of the success they have gotten.  As I sang my heart out these incredible songs I could barely tear my eyes away from the stage to look around this room filled with people singing aloud to songs that meant something special to them too.

I left that show thoroughly wrecked emotionally.  To be able to see 2 bands who mean so much to me both musically and personally share their art to a packed room venue.  It will always be one of the best nights of my life.  During the show I laughed, I cried, and I thought about the person I was and who I wanted to be.  I thought about where I wanted to see my life go and was already making plans in my head.  I went to bed with a heart so full I thought it would burst.

Night Two: The Rock

Still on a high from the night before, I hopped in my car, kept my fingers crossed it would make the 2 hour drive to Tucson, and got ready for another great night of music.  Now, I had already had the night of my life the night before, so I had intended on laying low for this show.  I got to the venue, found a place in the back of the crowd where I would still be able to see the stage, and set in for another night of great music.  Each night the bands flip flopped who closed the show, so The Cab took the stage first, starting off the night with the same energy they always do.  Instead of joining the crowd of people, I spent the night observing.  I watched another crowded room be forever changed by the music being presented to them on stage.  I watched people laugh at the jokes they made on stage, and cry at the songs that pulled at their heart strings.  I’ll be honest, I even got a little teary eyed watching how much emotion was passing from the instruments and microphone on stage and through the crowd.  It was remarkable, really, to just let myself absorb the energy of the room while enjoying the music from a new perspective.

When The Summer Set took the stage I braced myself for what I knew would be an emotional endeavor.  I really sat back for their set and just wanted to absorb the music.  It was the first time in a long time I really let myself feel the music.  I let my heart keep time with the drums and really let the words of the songs engulf me.  The energy of their set was nothing short of incredible.  It was a truly beautiful thing to witness how moved people were by the music.  It was almost as if you could feel each persons reactions to the music.  Feel how much each song meant to everyone.  That alone, in conjunction with the music, was enough to make me shed a tear.  It was overwhelming, really, to have so much emotion brought out at a concert.  It was one of the most cathartic experiences I have experienced.

I drove home from the show in a trance.  It was a beautiful thing to be able to experience the same show twice, and to really let myself get lost in the music.  Both shows had such an incredible energy, filled with such wonderful music, and both really pulled at my heart strings.  To this day I still say one of my best decisions was going to both of those shows.  I got to spend much needed time being surrounded by great music, and more inspiration than most people get in a lifetime.  It’s been 5 years since this tour, and there is not a day that goes by that I don’t think of these nights.  I can still feel the emotion of the shows, I can still feel the goosebumps along my flesh as each band took the stage, still feel the way the music moved not only me, but the crowds of people who filled up both venue.  But most of all I think back to those shows and think about how infinite I felt. On particularly bad days I spend some extra time thinking about these shows, and hold on to that infinite feeling, that inspiration that can only be drawn out by true talent, and remember that every single day dreams come true, as long as you work for them. If you haven’t had a chance to see these bands live, I highly recommend you make it a priority.  Their shows will not only entertain you, but will leave you feeling like everything is possible, like you want to go out, live your life, and chase all of your dreams.

“And all I know is:

No one, no one lives forever

We will be remembered

For what we do right now”

  • The Cab – Living Louder

“When we were young and restless

Dumb and fearless

Fighting in the street

Will you remember me?”

  • The Summer Set – When We Were Young
Leave a Reply

